Supreme Court

The Supreme Court

The Supreme Court is the highest court in NSW. Established by the 1823 Charter of Justice, it now operates under the Supreme Court Act 1970 and the Civil Procedure Act 2005. The Court has unlimited civil jurisdiction and handles the most serious criminal matters.

There work of the Supreme Court is divided between two Divisions: the Common Law Division and the Equity Division.